Professional News
AGLP Honors Hartmann, Forstein For Contributions to Gay Community
Psychiatric News
Volume 36 Number 11 page 9-9

The Association of Gay and Lesbian Psychiatrists (AGLP) recently honored two prominent psychiatrists for significant contributions to making psychiatry more welcoming of gay and lesbian physicians and improving the way the mental health care system responds to gay, lesbian, and bisexual individuals.

Former APA President Lawrence Hartmann, M.D., was honored by the AGLP with its Distinguished Service Award for his many years of work within the governance of APA, including his service as president, to promote acceptance of its gay, lesbian, and bisexual members and to promote better understanding of the mental health issues facing the gay, lesbian, and bisexual community.

Marshall Forstein, M.D., medical director of the Fenway Center in Boston, received the James Paulsen Award for Distinguished Service to AGLP. He was cited for his many years of service to AGLP as president; for his development of curricula teaching medical students, residents, and others about mental health issues of the gay, lesbian, and bisexual community; for his years as chair of APA’s Commission on AIDS; and for his continued involvement with AGLP.

Hartmann and Forstein received their awards at the AGLP’s annual banquet, which was held May 9 in New Orleans. ▪

Interactive Graphics


Citing articles are presented as examples only. In non-demo SCM6 implementation, integration with CrossRef’s "Cited By" API will populate this tab (http://www.crossref.org/citedby.html).
Related Articles