Professional News
Moffic Award Winners
Psychiatric News
Volume 37 Number 13 page 41-41

The Moffic Award for Ethical Practice in Public Sector Managed Behavioral Health Care, established in 1998, recognizes individuals and organizations that set new standards for ethical practice in public managed care systems to improve patient services in public managed care systems. The awardees are listed below:


Cliff Tennison, M.D., and the Helen Ross McNabb Center, for advocating for patients’ rights and creating new services.


Noel Drury, M.D., for leading a successful challenge to Magellan Behavioral Health in Montana while continuing to work on behalf of patients in the public sector.

The Greater Oregon Behavioral Health Inc. and Peter Davidson, M.D., for finding new ways to combine ethics and cost-effectiveness, including forming a cooperative relationship among agencies that incorporate prevention and outreach efforts to those at risk.

David A. Pollack, M.D., who, as a Robert Wood Johnson Health Policy Fellow, worked on managed care reform and helped to draft the federal Patients’ Bill of Rights.

Andres Pumariega, M.D., who led a national effort to incorporate cultural competence into public sector managed behavioral health care systems.

Roy C. Wilson, M.D., who, as director of the State of Missouri Department of Mental health, resisted pressures to enter immediately into managed care contracts or preserve the status quo and led a slow and successful transition into managed care.


Michael A. Hoge, Ph.D., who created a managed care behavioral health organization, Yale Behavioral Health, which successfully demonstrated how patient care could be managed ethically and still succeed financially.


Christine Cline, M.D., M.B.A., medical director of the Behavioral Health Services Division of the New Mexico Department of Health, for leading a smooth transition into a managed care system and ensuring that quality accountability is built into managed care objectives.

James Sabin, M.D., who helped develop the Harvard Community Health Plan in 1975 and is currently codirector of the Center of Ethics in Managed Care of Harvard Pilgrim Health Care.

Most Honorable Mention

1998: David E. Dangerfield, D.S.W., Ryan Finkenbine, M.D., Paulette Gillig, Ph.D., David A. Pollack, M.D.

2001: Joel S. Feiner, M.D.

2002: Barbara J. Burns, M.D., Leighton Huey, M.D.

Interactive Graphics


Citing articles are presented as examples only. In non-demo SCM6 implementation, integration with CrossRef’s "Cited By" API will populate this tab (http://www.crossref.org/citedby.html).
Related Articles