APA Institute
APA/Bristol-Myers Squibb Fellows To Serve as Institute Faculty
Psychiatric News
Volume 36 Number 16 page 24-24

A highlight of every Institute on Psychiatric Services is a series of sessions featuring APA/Bristol-Myers Squibb Fellows as faculty. These third- and fourth-year residents were selected for the fellowship based on their record of academic and professional achievement and their commitment to the field of public psychiatry. Since the fellowship’s founding, approximately 250 APA/Bristol-Myers Squibb Fellows have participated in the institute and presented highly acclaimed and well-attended workshops.

This year’s institute features the following sessions to be presented by 2000-02 APA/Bristol-Myers Squibb Fellows:

• Catching the Bus: School-Based Primary Prevention and Mental Health

• What Is the Patient Saying? The Psychiatric Interview Through an Interpreter

• How Much Does It Cost? An Ethical Approach to the Pharmaceutical Industry

• The History of Mental Health Professionals in the Juvenile Justice System

• Self-Destructiveness: Implications for HIV Disease

The 2000-02 fellows are (all M.D.s) Marc E. Dalton (Medical University of South Carolina), Daralynn Deardorff, (University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center), Esther J. Dechant (Harvard Medical School, Cambridge Hospital), Daniel P. Dickstein (Brown University, Rhode Island Hospital); Nichole D. Grier (University of North Carolina School of Medicine), Kamlyn R. Haynes (University of Massachusetts), Priyamvada Narayanan (New York University School of Medicine), Steven B. Rudin (Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons), Craig A. Stuck (University of South Carolina, William S. Hall Psychiatric Institute), and Pamela E. Swedlow (University of California-San Francisco, Langley Porter Psychiatric Institute).

In addition to the 10 fellows serving as faculty, the recently selected 2001-03 APA/Bristol-Myers Squibb Fellows will attend the institute. They are (all M.D.s) Alison M. Barnes (University of Maryland/Sheppard Pratt Health System), Hagit Bat-Avi (Beth Israel Medical Center), Jaime M. Benitez (Bronx-Lebanon Hospital Center Albert Einstein College), Mathieu Bermingham (University of Massachusetts Medical School), Matthew E. Bernstein (Harvard Medical School-McLean Hospital), Jennifer K. Coffman (Harvard Longwood), Melva I. Green (Johns Hopkins), Raymond J. Kotwicki (Emory University School of Medicine), Eric Levander (Harbor/UCLA Medical Center), and Susan A. Turner (Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons).

Both fellowship classes will participate in a number of activities designed to augment the institute’s program and provide opportunities to become acquainted with the leaders in the field. Additionally, they will join other residents in sessions the program committee has arranged specifically for resident attendees.

The APA/Bristol-Myers Squibb Fellowship is funded through a generous grant to APA by Bristol-Myers Squibb Company. ▪

Interactive Graphics


Citing articles are presented as examples only. In non-demo SCM6 implementation, integration with CrossRef’s "Cited By" API will populate this tab (http://www.crossref.org/citedby.html).