Association News
Committee Begins Search For New AJP Editor
Psychiatric News
Volume 39 Number 21 page 22-22

APA and American Psychiatric Publishing Inc. are seeking candidates for the position of editor of the American Journal of Psychiatry.

The current editor, Nancy C. Andreasen, M.D., is completing the maximum term that an editor is permitted to serve on an APA publication—13 years. She was appointed initially in 1992, replacing John Nemiah, M.D.

Among the major responsibilities of the editor is to work in collaboration with the journal's Editorial Board, establish editorial policies, develop ideas for new features, and guide the journal in new directions. In addition, the editor directs the journal's Web-based peer-review process, assigning reviewers to submitted manuscripts and making disposition decisions.

Applicants must have significant publishing and editorial experience. Experience with publication of a peer-reviewed journal and with online submission and review systems is also desirable.

The editor reports jointly to the APA Board of Trustees and the medical director.

The position, which is part time, is salaried and does not require relocation. A transition period will begin in July 2005, and the new editor will assume responsibility for the January 2006 issue.

In March 1992 the Board of Trustees approved the following provisions with regard to the tenure and review of editors of APA publications: An editor is initially appointed for a three-year term. At the end of that time, a committee appointed by the president and medical director reviews the editor's performance. If the review is positive, the editor's contract is renewed for a five-year term. At the end of that term, a review is again conducted, and if positive, the editor can serve for five more years. Thus, an editor serves no longer than 13 years.

Applications must be received before December 31. They will be reviewed by a search committee, whose members are John M. Oldham, M.D. (chair), Jack D. Barchas, M.D., Floyd E. Bloom, M.D., Mina K. Dulcan, M.D., Glen O. Gabbard, M.D., Maria A. Oquendo, M.D., and Allan Tasman, M.D. Serving on the staff committee are James H. Scully Jr., M.D., Annelle Primm, M.D., M.P.H., Ron McMillen, and Sandra Patterson.

The committee hopes to begin interviewing candidates next spring and make a recommendation to the Board of Trustees in July 2005.

Psychiatrists may apply by sending a letter of interest and a curriculum vitae by e-mail to editor@psych.org or by mail to Editor, Search Committee, c/o Ronald McMillen, American Psychiatric Publishing Inc., 1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 1825, Arlington, Va. 22209.

Further information about the editor position or a copy of the position description may be obtained by calling McMillen at (703) 907-7892.

Interactive Graphics


Citing articles are presented as examples only. In non-demo SCM6 implementation, integration with CrossRef’s "Cited By" API will populate this tab (http://www.crossref.org/citedby.html).