Professional News
Massachusetts District Branch Honors Outstanding Members
Psychiatric News
Volume 40 Number 14 page 13-13

Several Massachusetts psychiatrists were recently honored by their district branch, the Massachusetts Psychiatric Society (MPS), for outstanding contributions to their field.

The winners of the 2005 Outstanding Psychiatrist awards were (from left in photo) Ross Baldessarini, M.D., John Herman, M.D., Alan Brown, M.D., Aaron Lazare, M.D., Leon Eisenberg, M.D., and Carola Eisenberg, M.D. Not pictured are Elizabeth Childs, M.D., and Maurizio Fava, M.D.

The awards were presented at the MPS's annual meeting in May at Bentley College in Waltham, Mass. The keynote speakers were two state legislators, Sen. Steven Tolman and Rep. Ruth Balser. The two co-chair the legislature's Joint Committee on Mental Health and Substance Abuse.

Balser discussed the continuing legislative efforts to gain full parity for mental health care, and Tolman focused on the need to draw attention to the substance abuse problem, particularly that involving abuse of prescription drugs, among young adults.

Interactive Graphics


Citing articles are presented as examples only. In non-demo SCM6 implementation, integration with CrossRef’s "Cited By" API will populate this tab (http://www.crossref.org/citedby.html).
Related Articles