Association News
APA Announces Candidates For 2006 Election
Psychiatric News
Volume 40 Number 19 page 1-36

The roster of candidates who will compete in next year's APA election was announced last month by the Nominating Committee, with Jack Drescher, M.D., and Carolyn Robinowitz, M.D., chosen to face off in the race for president-elect.

Drescher, of New York City, is clinical assistant professor at SUNY-Downstate Medical Center and training analyst at the William Alanson White Institute. He chairs APA's Committee on Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Issues and is a member of the Council on Minority Mental Health, and Health Disparities. He is a past president of the New York County District Branch.

Robinowitz, of Bethesda, Md., is in the private practice of child, adolescent, and adult psychiatry. She is APA's secretary-treasurer, a member of APPI's Board of Directors, a former APA deputy medical director, and former dean at Georgetown University School of Medicine. She is an APA delegate to the AMA and a member of the AMA Council on Scientific Affairs.

Prakash Desai, M.D., and Donna Norris, M.D., will vie for the secretary-treasurer position. Desai, of River Forest, Ill., is a past speaker of the APA Assembly and a member of the Committee on Access and Effectiveness of Psychiatric Services for the Elderly. Norris, of Wellesley, Mass., is APA's Area 1 trustee and a past speaker of the APA Assembly.

The race for ECP trustee-at-large pits Richard Granese, M.D., of Orange, Calif., against Amy Ursano, M.D., of Chapel Hill, N.C. Granese is the former Area 5 ECP deputy representative, and Ursano is an associate editor on the APPI Editorial Board.

In this year's contest for member-in-training trustee-elect, Abigail Donovan, M.D., of Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston will run against Anjali Nirmalani, M.D., of the University of South Florida in Tampa.

Three APA Areas will have trustee races in the election. In Area 1 Jeffrey Geller, M.D., M.P.H., of Worcester, Mass., will face off against Patricia Recupero, M.D., J.D., of Providence, R.I.

Two Chicago psychiatrists—Tanya Anderson, M.D., and incumbent Sidney Weissman, M.D.—will compete for the Area 4 trustee position.

The Area 7 contest pits Louis Moench, M.D., of Salt Lake City against William Womack, M.D., of Seattle.

The ballots will be mailed on December 22. At about the same time, voting members with an e-mail address on file with APA will receive e-mails with instructions for voting online. The final deadline for accepting both paper and online ballots is 5 p.m. Eastern time on February 6, 2006.

Candidates' biographies and statements will be published in the December 2 issue of Psychiatric News.

Interactive Graphics


Citing articles are presented as examples only. In non-demo SCM6 implementation, integration with CrossRef’s "Cited By" API will populate this tab (http://www.crossref.org/citedby.html).