Association News
APA/Shire Fellows Selected for 2007-08
Psychiatric News
Volume 42 Number 5 page 20-20

Five psychiatry residents have been selected from 57 applicants for the 2007-2008 APA/Shire Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship. They are Tyanne Dosh, M.D., Michelle Guchereau, M.D., Jennifer McLaren, M.D., Sandra Rackley, M.D., and Aaron Reliford, M.D.

For five years, APA/Shire Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowships have been awarded to several psychiatry residents (PGY-1 to PGY-3) to support their attendance at two APA annual meetings and to develop their interests in pursuing careers in child and adolescent psychiatry. These residents are mentored by noted child and adolescent psychiatrists and are required to submit program proposals to the annual meeting's Scientific Program Committee for their second year.

Dosh, a PGY-1 resident at the University of Kentucky, is especially interested in teaching and research in child and adolescent psychopharmacology, neuropsychiatric disorders, and child-abuse assessment.

Guchereau is a PGY-3 resident at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio. She wants to pursue work with both psychopharmacology and pervasive developmental disorders in children.

McLaren is a PGY-2 resident at Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center in Lebanon, N.H. She plans to work with and do advocacy for developmentally disabled children.

Rackley is a PGY-3 resident at the Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education in Rochester, Minn. She is interested in working in consultation/liaison psychiatry with underserved populations and in developing countries.

Reliford is a PGY-3 resident at Columbia University's Department of Psychiatry in New York and is interested in both psychopharmacologic and psychotherapeutic treatment of anxiety disorders in children.

The 2006-07 APA/Shire fellows will lead component and issue workshops at this year's annual meeting in San Diego. The fellows are Alisa Land, M.D., of UCLA; Camilla Lyons, M.D., of Harvard Longwood; Vishal Madaan, M.D., of Creighton University/University of Nebraska; Hanna Stevens, M.D., of Yale University; and Katharine Stratigos, M.D., of Columbia University.

More information about the APA/Shire Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowships and other APA fellowships can be accessed at<www.psych.org/edu/res_fellows/rf/awardsfellowships.cfm>.

Interactive Graphics


Citing articles are presented as examples only. In non-demo SCM6 implementation, integration with CrossRef’s "Cited By" API will populate this tab (http://www.crossref.org/citedby.html).