Information on APA's Election: GENERAL INFORMATION
Psychiatric News
Volume 43 Number 23 page 18-18

The purposes for which APA is organized are to


The key elements of APA's governance structure are the Board of Trustees, the Assembly, and the Joint Reference Committee. Standing committees (those named in APA's Bylaws) and topic councils and their components carry out the Association's work.


The Board of Trustees, composed of officers and trustees elected by the membership, governs the Association. The power to make policy is vested in the Board, and the Board's primary function is to formulate and implement the policies of the Association. The Board exercises all powers of the Association that are not otherwise assigned. Trustees are expected to attend all Board meetings and participate in the matters at hand, for they cannot delegate responsibility to govern or give a proxy vote. Area trustees are ex-officio members of their respective Area Councils.

These are the voting members of the Board of Trustees:

The nonvoting members of the Board are the member-in-training trustee-elect (MITTE) and the past presidents elected before the year 2000.

Candidates other than those for Area trustee are selected by the Nominating Committee or nominated by petition. They are elected by the entire voting membership, except for the MITTE, who is elected solely by members-in-training. The seven Area trustees are nominated by their Area Councils or by petition and elected by the members who belong to the district branches within the individual geographic regions (see DO YOU KNOW YOUR APA AREA?).

In the 2009 election, voters will elect the president-elect, vice president, ECP trustee-at-large (elected every three years), MITTE (serves one year without voting privileges and one year as MITT with voting privileges), and Area trustees in Areas 1, 4, and 7.


The Assembly is composed of representatives from the Association's seven Area Councils and 74 district branches, minority/underrepresented groups, ECPs, MITs, and allied organizations. The Board and its components often refer issues to the Assembly for consideration and study. The Assembly elects its own officers each May.


Area Councils

The seven Area councils are regional links between the Assembly and the district branches. They consist of representatives from each of the district branches within the Area, an Area representative and deputy representative elected by the council itself, an Area ECP representative and deputy representative, an Area MIT representative and deputy representative, allied organization liaisons within the Area, and the Area trustee to the Board of Trustees. The Area councils promote relationships between organized psychiatry and state governments, coordinate a range of branch activities, hold scientific meetings and other programs in continuing education, and provide a forum for discussion of national and regional issues.


District Branches

Constituent parts of the Association, district branches work locally to foster the science of psychiatry, promote its progress as a healing profession, and maintain high professional standards. Most correspond to state or metropolitan areas. Each district branch collects dues from its members, elects its own officers, and arranges and funds its own programs. Each district branch elects its own representatives to the Assembly. An effective way for members to bring an issue to national attention is through their district branch representatives to the Assembly.


The Joint Reference Committee is a standing committee that acts as a liaison and screening mechanism for the Board, the Assembly, and the Association's supportive components. It refers issues for study to various components and coordinates their recommendations for further consideration by the Board or the Assembly. The president-elect serves as chair and the speaker-elect of the Assembly as vice chair.



Standing Committees

The Bylaws establish an Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees and eight committees to assist in conducting the business affairs of the Association: Ethics, Membership, Nominating, Bylaws, Budget, Tellers, Elections, and Joint Reference.


Councils and Components

There are currently 14 councils: Addiction Psychiatry; Advocacy and Public Policy; Aging; Children, Adolescents, and Their Families; Global Psychiatry; Health Care Systems and Financing; Medical Education and Lifelong Learning; Member and District Branch Relations; Minority Mental Health and Health Disparities; Psychiatry and Law; Psychosomatic Medicine; Quality Care; Research; and Social Issues and Public Psychiatry. Various committees, corresponding committees, task forces, and caucuses report to each council. Each council, composed of voting members, has authority to create and eliminate informal work groups, subject to the approval of the Board.

Several boards report directly to the Board of Trustees, such as the editorial boards of APA's newspaper and journals.

Interactive Graphics


Citing articles are presented as examples only. In non-demo SCM6 implementation, integration with CrossRef’s "Cited By" API will populate this tab (http://www.crossref.org/citedby.html).
Related Articles